Effective June 1, newly passed legislation will require Colorado motor vehicle owners to pay a late fee on delinquent registrations. This late fee will be assessed at $25 per month up to a maximum of $100. The late fee will apply to:
- Renewals past the one-month grace period
- Expired temporary permits
- New vehicles not registered within 60 days of purchase
- Vehicles not registered within 90 days of owner becoming a resident in Colorado
State law requires all vehicles to be currently registered, whether they are being used or not.
Effective July 1, new legislation will create “Safety Surcharges” that must be collected based on the weight of the vehicle. Safety surcharges will increase vehicle registration fees by $22.50 to $55. The additional fees will be remitted to the Department of Revenue to fund Road and Bridge Safety projects.
The Larimer County Clerk and Recorder Vehicle Licensing Division is required to collect fees in accordance with state law.