October 2014
S M T W T F S
« Sep    
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  
News for Norther Colorado and the world

Wednesday, October 22, 2014

Earthsky Tonight—July 25, Full moon falls on July 25 in the Americas

Courtesy of EarthSky
A Clear Voice for Science
www.EarthSky.org

Moon 13 Full moon phases Earthsky Tonight—July 25, Full moon falls on July 25 in the Americas 10jul25 430 Earthsky Tonight—July 25, Full moon falls on July 25 in the Americas To the casual observer, the moon looks full for up to two or three days in a row each month. Astronomically speaking, however, the full moon has no actual duration, but occurs at a well-defined instant. The moon is astronomically full when it stands 180 degrees opposite the sun in Earth’s sky. That happens this evening – on Sunday, July 25 – at 8:36 p.m. Central Time (9:36 p.m. Eastern Time, 7:36 p.m. Mountain Time and 6:36 p.m. Pacific Time).

For everyday reference, we can say the full moon lasts the whole night. After all, the moon’s face will be more than 99% illuminated all night long. What’s more, the moon will remain more or less opposite the sun throughout the night, so the moon will rise in the east around sunset, and will set in the west around sunrise. Any moon that lights up the nighttime from dusk until dawn can be regarded as the everyday person’s full moon.

This month, the full moon shines in front of the constellation Capricornus the Sea-goat, while the sun sits opposite the moon in front of the constellation Cancer the Crab. Next month, the August full moon will be found in front of the constellation Aquarius, whereas the sun will be back dropped by the constellation Leo.

Tonight presents the second full moon after the June 21 summer solstice. In North America, we often call the second full moon of the summer season the Grain Moon or the Green Corn Moon. Watch the full moon beam tonight, as it sails across the sky from dusk until dawn!

Written by Bruce McClure


Astronomy Picture of the Day from NASA/JPL

CHANDRA Photo Album

U.S. Naval Observator Astronomical Information center

StarDate Online

Sky and Telescope

National Geographic

Space Com

Amazing Space

The York County Astronomical Society

Scope City

James S McDonnell Planetarium

Print This Post Print This Post