- Recorder Online - http://www.berthoudrecorder.com -

EarthSky Tonight—Oct. 5, Glowing pyramid of light in east might be false dawn

Posted By Editor On October 4, 2010 @ 9:32 pm In Earth & Sky | Comments Disabled

Courtesy of EarthSky
A Clear Voice for Science
www.EarthSky.org [1]

phase05 EarthSky Tonight—Oct. 5, Glowing pyramid of light in east might be false dawn [2]10oct05 430 EarthSky Tonight—Oct. 5, Glowing pyramid of light in east might be false dawn [3]Autumn is the best time of year to see the false dawn, also known as the zodiacal light [4].

This light can be noticeable and easy to see from latitudes like those in the southern U.S. I’ve seen it many times from the latitude of southern Texas, sometimes while driving a lonely highway far from city lights, in the hour or so before true dawn begins to light the sky. In that case, the zodiacal light can resemble the lights of a city or town just over the horizon. Meanwhile, skywatchers in the northern U.S. or Canada sometimes say, wistfully, that they have never seen it.

You need a dark sky location to see the zodiacal light, somewhere where city lights are not obscuring the natural lights in the sky. The zodiacal light is a pyramid-shaped glow in the east before dawn. It is even “milkier” in appearance than the starlit trail of the summer Milky Way. It is most visible before dawn at this time of year because (as seen from the northern hemisphere) the ecliptic – or path of the sun, moon and planets – stands nearly straight up with respect to the eastern horizon before dawn now.

The zodiacal light can be seen for up to an hour before true dawn begins to break. Unlike true dawn, though, there is no rosy color to the zodiacal light. The reddish skies at dawn and dusk are caused by Earth’s atmosphere, and the zodiacal light originates far outside our atmosphere. When you see the zodiacal light, you are looking edgewise into our own solar system. The zodiacal light is actually sunlight reflecting off dust particles that move in the same plane as Earth and the other planets orbiting our sun.

deborahbyrd.thumbnail1 EarthSky Tonight—Oct. 5, Glowing pyramid of light in east might be false dawn [5]Written by Deborah Byrd [6]


Astronomy Picture of the Day from NASA/JPL [7]

CHANDRA Photo Album [8]

U.S. Naval Observator Astronomical Information cente [9]r

Universe Today [10]

StarDate Online [11]

Sky and Telescope [12]

National Geographic [13]

Space Com [14]

Simostronomy Blog [15]

Amazing Space [16]

The York County Astronomical Society [17]

Scope City [18]

James S McDonnell Planetarium [18]


Article printed from Recorder Online: http://www.berthoudrecorder.com

URL to article: http://www.berthoudrecorder.com/earthsky-tonight%e2%80%94oct-5-glowing-pyramid-of-light-in-east-might-be-false-dawn/

URLs in this post:

[1] www.EarthSky.org: http://www.EarthSky.org

[2] Image: http://www.berthoudrecorder.com/wp-content/uploads/2010/10/phase05.gif

[3] Image: http://www.berthoudrecorder.com/wp-content/uploads/2010/10/10oct05_430.jpg

[4] zodiacal light: http://www.astropix.com/HTML/H_OTHER/ZLITE.HTM

[5] Image: http://www.berthoudrecorder.com/wp-content/uploads/2010/10/deborahbyrd.thumbnail1.png

[6] Deborah Byrd: http://earthsky.org/author/deborahbyrd/

[7] Astronomy Picture of the Day from NASA/JPL: http://antwrp.gsfc.nasa.gov/apod/

[8] CHANDRA Photo Album: http://chandra.harvard.edu/photo/

[9] U.S. Naval Observator Astronomical Information cente: http://www.usno.navy.mil/USNO/astronomical-applications/astronomical-information-center/astronomical-information-center

[10] Universe Today: http://www.universetoday.com/

[11] StarDate Online: http://stardate.org/

[12] Sky and Telescope: http://www.skyandtelescope.com/observing/ataglance/

[13] National Geographic: http://news.nationalgeographic.com/news/

[14] Space Com: http://www.space.com/nightsky/

[15] Simostronomy Blog: http://simostronomy.blogspot.com/

[16] Amazing Space: http://amazing-space.stsci.edu/tonights_sky/

[17] The York County Astronomical Society: http://www.ycas.org/tonights_sky.htm

[18] Scope City: http://www.scopecity.net/

Copyright © 2010 Berthoud Recorder. All rights reserved.