November 2015
« Oct    
News for Norther Colorado and the world

Saturday, November 28, 2015

Redistricting Committee formed

House and Senate Leaders Announce Appointments

To Bipartisan Redistricting Committee

House Speaker-designee Frank McNulty, R-Highlands Ranch, Senate President Brandon Shaffer, D-Longmont, Senate Minority Leader Mike Kopp, R-Littleton, and House Minority Leader Sal Pace, D-Pueblo, today announced their appointments to serve on the joint legislative committee tasked with drawing Colorado’s congressional lines.

“Our goal in creating this committee is to take a new approach to the congressional redistricting process that is focused on drawing fair boundary lines and avoiding the partisan squabbles that have marked this process in past years,” McNulty said. “Our members of the committee share that goal and are equally committed to ensuring a fair and transparent process.”

“We’ve got great bipartisan legislators on this committee,” President Shaffer added. “I’m confident each member will take this responsibility very seriously and work hard to deliver fair, honest results for the citizens of Colorado.”

“Redistricting is an important responsibility for the state legislature, and this bi-partisan committee provides Coloradans across the state an opportunity to contribute to the process,” said House Minority Leader Sal Pace.

“The people of Colorado expect a fair and transparent process in redrawing Colorado’s congressional districts,” said Senate Minority Leader Mike Kopp. “The focus of this joint legislative committee is to ensure districts are competitive and the general public has a voice in this effort.”

The Joint Select Committee will have 10 members: five Democrats and five Republicans. Speaker-designee McNulty and President Shaffer appointed three members each. The House and Senate Minority Leaders will each appointed two members.

Serving on the Committee from the Senate will be Co-Chair Sen. Rollie Heath, D-Boulder, Sen. Gail Schwartz, D-Snowmass, Sen. Morgan Carroll, D-Aurora, Sen. Greg Brophy, R-Wray, and Sen. Mark Scheffel, R-Parker.

Serving on the committee from the House will be Co-Chair Rep. David Balmer, R-Centennial, Rep. B.J. Nikkel, R-Loveland, Rep.-elect Don Coram, R-Montrose, Rep.-elect Dan Pabon, D-Denver, and Rep. Ed Vigil, D-Alamosa.

The committee will be tasked with holding at least one public hearing in each of Colorado’s seven Congressional Districts to hear public testimony. Additionally, the committee will evaluate proposed maps, seek public feedback, and make recommendations to the General Assembly.

The formation of the Joint Select Committee on Congressional Redistricting was announced at the annual meeting of the Colorado Press Association with the House and Senate leadership. (View a copy of the announcement here

Print This Post Print This Post