- Recorder Online - http://www.berthoudrecorder.com -

Sky Tonight—April 25, Orion descends in the west each evening

Posted By Editor On April 25, 2011 @ 10:25 pm In Earth & Sky | Comments Disabled

Courtesy of EarthSky
A Clear Voice for Science

Visit EarthSky at
www.EarthSky.org [1]

phases r 191 Sky Tonight—April 25, Orion descends in the west each evening [2]apr25 Sky Tonight—April 25, Orion descends in the west each evening [3]The famous constellation Orion will soon disappear for another season.

At this time of year, Orion is descending in the southwest to west in the hours after sunset. This constellation is noticeable for its bright stars and its distinctive pattern on the sky’s dome. Look for three stars in a short, straight row. Also look for Betelgeuse [4] and Rigel [5], Orion’s brightest stars. If you did not come to know it this winter, check it out now. It is one of the most distinctive of all star patterns.

Today’s chart is marked with the location of a cloud in interstellar space . . . located in the direction to Orion. Binoculars or small telescopes reveal the beautiful Orion Nebula [6], otherwise known as M42, if you have a dark-enough sky. Will you spot the nebula in a twilight or early evening sky on these April evenings? The only way to know for sure is to look.

If you do find the Orion Nebula in early evening now, you will spot it in the middle of a curved line of stars that appears attached to Orion’s Belt. This curved line is the Sword of Orion. The Orion Nebula looks to the eye like a hazy “star” in the Sword. However, the slightest optical aid reveals much more [7].

Beautiful new image of Orion Nebula [8]

Rigel: Orion’s brightest star [5]

Betelgeuse will explode someday [4]

By Deborah Byrd [9]


Astronomy Picture of the Day from NASA/JPL [10]

EarthSky: Space [11]

CHANDRA Photo Album [12]

U.S. Naval Observator Astronomical Information cente [13]r

Universe Today [14]

StarDate Online [15]

Sky and Telescope [16]

National Geographic [17]

Space Com [18]

Simostronomy Blog [19]

Amazing Space [20]

The York County Astronomical Society [21]

Scope City [22]

James S McDonnell Planetarium [23]


Article printed from Recorder Online: http://www.berthoudrecorder.com

URL to article: http://www.berthoudrecorder.com/sky-tonight%e2%80%94april-25-orion-descends-in-the-west-each-evening/

URLs in this post:

[1] www.EarthSky.org: http://www.EarthSky.org

[2] Image: http://www.berthoudrecorder.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/04/phases-r-191.jpg

[3] Image: http://www.berthoudrecorder.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/04/apr25.jpg

[4] Betelgeuse: http://earthsky.org/brightest-stars/betelgeuse-will-explode-someday

[5] Rigel: http://earthsky.org/brightest-stars/blue-white-rigel-is-orions-brightest-star

[6] Orion Nebula: http://earthsky.org/clusters-nebulae-galaxies/orion-nebula-jewel-in-orions-sword

[7] much more: http://www.noao.edu/image_gallery/html/im0349.html

[8] Beautiful new image of Orion Nebula: http://earthsky.org/space/beautiful-new-image-of-orion-nebula

[9] Deborah Byrd: http://earthsky.org/team/deborahbyrd

[10] Astronomy Picture of the Day from NASA/JPL: http://antwrp.gsfc.nasa.gov/apod/

[11] EarthSky: Space: http://earthsky.org/space

[12] CHANDRA Photo Album: http://chandra.harvard.edu/photo/

[13] U.S. Naval Observator Astronomical Information cente: http://www.usno.navy.mil/USNO/astronomical-applications/astronomical-information-center/astronomical-information-center

[14] Universe Today: http://www.universetoday.com/

[15] StarDate Online: http://stardate.org/

[16] Sky and Telescope: http://www.skyandtelescope.com/observing/ataglance/

[17] National Geographic: http://news.nationalgeographic.com/news/

[18] Space Com: http://www.space.com/nightsky/

[19] Simostronomy Blog: http://simostronomy.blogspot.com/

[20] Amazing Space: http://amazing-space.stsci.edu/tonights_sky/

[21] The York County Astronomical Society: http://www.ycas.org/tonights_sky.htm

[22] Scope City: http://www.scopecity.net/

[23] James S McDonnell Planetarium: http://www.slsc.org/WhatToDo/Planetarium/NightSkyUpdate.aspx

Copyright © 2010 Berthoud Recorder. All rights reserved.