October 2014
S M T W T F S
« Sep    
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  
News for Norther Colorado and the world

Friday, October 24, 2014

Sky Tonight—January 19, Full moon rises in east around sunset

Courtesy of EarthSky
A Clear Voice for Science

Visit EarthSky at
www.EarthSky.org

phase19 Sky Tonight—January 19, Full moon rises in east around sunset wolf moon dan bush Sky Tonight—January 19, Full moon rises in east around sunset This is the first full moon after the December solstice. In North America, we commonly call this full moon the Old Moon or Moon After Yule.

Can you tell me the full moon names?

The photograph above is by sky artist, Dan Bush, by the way. Be sure to check out his moon page.

Look for tonight’s full moon to rise in the east around sunset today (Wednesday, January 19). Like every full moon, it will climb highest in the sky around midnight and will set in the west tomorrow around sunrise. For general reference, we can say the moon is full all night tonight.

Astronomically speaking, though, the moon is full for only an instant. That instant occurs when the moon is most opposite the sun for the month. Today, that happens at 21:21 Universal Time. For the U.S. time zones, that places today’s full moon at 4:21 p.m. Eastern Time, 3:21 p.m. Central Time, 2:21 p.m. Mountain Time and 1:21 p.m. Pacific Time.

In the United States, the moon turns full during the afternoon hours today. At this full moon instant, the moon has to be below our horizon, because the sun is shining above it. In other words, the full moon lurks about as far below the horizon as the sun stands above it.

However, on the other side of the world – like in Europe, Africa and most of Asia – the full moon occurs during the nighttime hours tonight. For that part of the world, the moon at this full moon instant stands above the horizon while the sun sits beneath it. In the Middle East, the moon turns precisely full at midnight, so the full moon shines high overhead, while the sun lies directly underfoot.

Watch the January full moon tonight, as it beams from dusk until dawn!

Written by Bruce McClure


Astronomy Picture of the Day from NASA/JPL

EarthSky: Space

CHANDRA Photo Album

U.S. Naval Observator Astronomical Information center

Universe Today

StarDate Online

Sky and Telescope

National Geographic

Space Com

Simostronomy Blog

Amazing Space

The York County Astronomical Society

Scope City

James S McDonnell Planetarium

Print This Post Print This Post