- Recorder Online - http://www.berthoudrecorder.com -

Sky Tonight—March 27, Use the Big Dipper to locate the Hunting Dogs

Posted By Editor On March 26, 2011 @ 9:24 pm In Earth & Sky | Comments Disabled

Courtesy of EarthSky
A Clear Voice for Science

Visit EarthSky at
www.EarthSky.org [1]

phase27 Sky Tonight—March 27, Use the Big Dipper to locate the Hunting Dogs [2]mar27 Sky Tonight—March 27, Use the Big Dipper to locate the Hunting Dogs [3]You can easily locate the Big Dipper in the northeast sky on these early springtime evenings. The Big Dipper is part of the constellation Ursa Major, the Greater Bear.

If you can find the Big Dipper, you can also find two Hunting Dogs seen by the ancient stargazers to be nipping at the Bear’s heels. The Hunting Dogs are a separate constellation: tiny Canes Venatici. You will need a dark sky to see these two little stars snuggled in the arc of the Big Dipper. Originally, they were called Asterion and Chara. However, the eastern star is now called Cor Coroli, or Heart of Charles, named for the patron king of the Polish astronomer Johannes Hevelius, who devised this constellation in 1690.

The most famous object in this region of the sky is M51, the Whirlpool Galaxy. It is beautiful when seen through telescopes and dramatic in photographs. Unfortunately, this galaxy is difficult or impossible to glimpse with binoculars.

However, there is another faint object at the extreme edge of Canes Venatici that your binoculars should pick up over the coming week, now that the moon has left the evening sky. This object is M3, a globular star cluster located some 48,000 light-years away. Binoculars see it as a dim blur of light, best seen with averted vision. Notice that it is situated almost midway between the bright star Arcturus and Cor Coroli.

Not sure how to find Arcturus? Remember to “follow the arc [4]” of the Big Dipper’s handle, in order to locate this star. Use the Big Dipper, too, to find Canes Venatici the Hunting Dogs!

Moon & Vesta

by Deborah Byrd [5]

 


Astronomy Picture of the Day from NASA/JPL [6]

EarthSky: Space [7]

CHANDRA Photo Album [8]

U.S. Naval Observator Astronomical Information cente [9]r

Universe Today [10]

StarDate Online [11]

Sky and Telescope [12]

National Geographic [13]

Space Com [14]

Simostronomy Blog [15]

Amazing Space [16]

The York County Astronomical Society [17]

Scope City [18]

James S McDonnell Planetarium [19]


Article printed from Recorder Online: http://www.berthoudrecorder.com

URL to article: http://www.berthoudrecorder.com/sky-tonight%e2%80%94march-27-use-the-big-dipper-to-locate-the-hunting-dogs/

URLs in this post:

[1] www.EarthSky.org: http://www.EarthSky.org

[2] Image: http://www.berthoudrecorder.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/03/phase27.gif

[3] Image: http://www.berthoudrecorder.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/03/mar27.jpg

[4] follow the arc: http://earthsky.org/skywatching/50905/follow-the-arc-to-arcturus

[5] Deborah Byrd: http://earthsky.org/team/deborahbyrd/

[6] Astronomy Picture of the Day from NASA/JPL: http://antwrp.gsfc.nasa.gov/apod/

[7] EarthSky: Space: http://earthsky.org/space

[8] CHANDRA Photo Album: http://chandra.harvard.edu/photo/

[9] U.S. Naval Observator Astronomical Information cente: http://www.usno.navy.mil/USNO/astronomical-applications/astronomical-information-center/astronomical-information-center

[10] Universe Today: http://www.universetoday.com/

[11] StarDate Online: http://stardate.org/

[12] Sky and Telescope: http://www.skyandtelescope.com/observing/ataglance/

[13] National Geographic: http://news.nationalgeographic.com/news/

[14] Space Com: http://www.space.com/nightsky/

[15] Simostronomy Blog: http://simostronomy.blogspot.com/

[16] Amazing Space: http://amazing-space.stsci.edu/tonights_sky/

[17] The York County Astronomical Society: http://www.ycas.org/tonights_sky.htm

[18] Scope City: http://www.scopecity.net/

[19] James S McDonnell Planetarium: http://www.slsc.org/WhatToDo/Planetarium/NightSkyUpdate.aspx

Copyright © 2010 Berthoud Recorder. All rights reserved.