- Recorder Online - http://www.berthoudrecorder.com -

Sky Tonight—March 3, Recognize the Big Dipper … and Little Dipper

Posted By Editor On March 2, 2011 @ 5:41 pm In Earth & Sky | Comments Disabled

mar03 Sky Tonight—March 3, Recognize the Big Dipper … and Little Dipper [1]Courtesy of EarthSky
A Clear Voice for Science

Visit EarthSky at
www.EarthSky.org [2]

phase021 Sky Tonight—March 3, Recognize the Big Dipper … and Little Dipper [3]We received a question about the Big and Little Dippers.

“How can I locate both Ursa Minor and Ursa Major? I am seeing one of them in the sky . . . but cannot tell which one and where the other one is.”

The answer is that, if you are seeing only one dipper, it is probably the Big Dipper in the constellation Ursa Major. This constellation, also called the Greater Bear, contains the Big Dipper asterism that is familiar to so many stargazers because it really does look like a dipper.

This is a great time of year to begin looking for the Big Dipper in the evening. Here it is, on today’s chart, shown ascending in the northeast in the evening at this time of year.

Ursa Minor, the Lesser Bear, which contains the Little Dipper asterism, is much harder to see. Its stars are fainter, and the dipper shape is not so obvious. However, the Little Dipper is easy to spot, once you realize that the North Star is the last star in its handle.

How do you find the North Star? As today’s chart shows, the two outermost stars in the Big Dipper always point to the North Star. That is why these two stars, Dubhe and Merak, are known as “The Pointers.”

By EarthSky [4]


Astronomy Picture of the Day from NASA/JPL [5]

EarthSky: Space [6]

CHANDRA Photo Album [7]

U.S. Naval Observator Astronomical Information cente [8]r

Universe Today [9]

StarDate Online [10]

Sky and Telescope [11]

National Geographic [12]

Space Com [13]

Simostronomy Blog [14]

Amazing Space [15]

The York County Astronomical Society [16]

Scope City [17]

James S McDonnell Planetarium [18]


Article printed from Recorder Online: http://www.berthoudrecorder.com

URL to article: http://www.berthoudrecorder.com/sky-tonight%e2%80%94march-3-recognize-the-big-dipper-%e2%80%a6-and-little-dipper/

URLs in this post:

[1] Image: http://www.berthoudrecorder.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/03/mar03.jpg

[2] www.EarthSky.org: http://www.EarthSky.org

[3] Image: http://www.berthoudrecorder.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/03/phase021.gif

[4] EarthSky: http://earthsky.org/team/earthsky/

[5] Astronomy Picture of the Day from NASA/JPL: http://antwrp.gsfc.nasa.gov/apod/

[6] EarthSky: Space: http://earthsky.org/space

[7] CHANDRA Photo Album: http://chandra.harvard.edu/photo/

[8] U.S. Naval Observator Astronomical Information cente: http://www.usno.navy.mil/USNO/astronomical-applications/astronomical-information-center/astronomical-information-center

[9] Universe Today: http://www.universetoday.com/

[10] StarDate Online: http://stardate.org/

[11] Sky and Telescope: http://www.skyandtelescope.com/observing/ataglance/

[12] National Geographic: http://news.nationalgeographic.com/news/

[13] Space Com: http://www.space.com/nightsky/

[14] Simostronomy Blog: http://simostronomy.blogspot.com/

[15] Amazing Space: http://amazing-space.stsci.edu/tonights_sky/

[16] The York County Astronomical Society: http://www.ycas.org/tonights_sky.htm

[17] Scope City: http://www.scopecity.net/

[18] James S McDonnell Planetarium: http://www.slsc.org/WhatToDo/Planetarium/NightSkyUpdate.aspx

Copyright © 2010 Berthoud Recorder. All rights reserved.