- Recorder Online - http://www.berthoudrecorder.com -

Sky Tonight—May 14, Bright star near moon is Spica

Posted By Editor On May 13, 2011 @ 11:14 pm In Earth & Sky | Comments Disabled

Courtesy of EarthSky
A Clear Voice for Science

Visit EarthSky at
www.EarthSky.org [1]

phases r 09 Sky Tonight—May 14, Bright star near moon is Spica [2]may14 Sky Tonight—May 14, Bright star near moon is Spica [3]The waxing gibbous moon [4] glides past the star Spica [5] in the constellation Virgo this evening. It passes relatively close to Spica for a day or two each month that Spica is visible in our night sky. It does the same with other bright stars such as Regulus [6] in the constellation Leo, Antares [7] in the constellation Scorpius and Aldebaran [8] in the constellation Taurus.

But have you ever heard of the moon near Polaris the North Star [9]? If someone tells you they saw the moon near Polaris, you will know that cannot be so. The moon has a set path in the sky, approximately the same path as that followed by the sun each day. Polaris is far to the north on the sky’s dome, in a part of the sky the moon never visits.

In reality, the moon’s nearness to Spica tonight is just a line-of-sight illusion. The moon never gets close to Spica in a true sense because the moon is only about one light-second from Earth, while Spica is 260 light-years [10] away.

Spica is the 15th or 16th brightest star in the sky (it’s neck-and-neck with Antares). Spica is a close double star, and both stars in the Spica system are much hotter and brighter than our sun. In fact, there is some evidence that there are as many as three more smaller, fainter stars in the Spica system.

By Larry Sessions [11]

 

Astronomy Picture of the Day from NASA/JPL [12]

EarthSky: Space [13]

CHANDRA Photo Album [14]

U.S. Naval Observator Astronomical Information cente [15]r

Universe Today [16]

StarDate Online [17]

Sky and Telescope [18]

National Geographic [19]

Space Com [20]

Simostronomy Blog [21]

Amazing Space [22]

The York County Astronomical Society [23]

Scope City [24]

James S McDonnell Planetarium [25]


Article printed from Recorder Online: http://www.berthoudrecorder.com

URL to article: http://www.berthoudrecorder.com/sky-tonight%e2%80%94may-14-bright-star-near-moon-is-spica/

URLs in this post:

[1] www.EarthSky.org: http://www.EarthSky.org

[2] Image: http://www.berthoudrecorder.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/04/phases-r-09.jpg

[3] Image: http://www.berthoudrecorder.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/05/may14.jpg

[4] waxing gibbous moon: http://earthsky.org/tonightpost/moon-phases/waxing-gibbous

[5] Spica: http://earthsky.org/tonightpost/brightest-stars/speed-on-to-spica-the-15th-brightest-star

[6] Regulus: http://earthsky.org/brightest-stars/best-regulus-the-heart-of-the-lion

[7] Antares: http://earthsky.org/brightest-stars/antares-rivals-mars-as-the-scorpions-heart

[8] Aldebaran: http://earthsky.org/tonightpost/brightest-stars/aldebaran-is-taurus-bloodshot-eye

[9] Polaris the North Star: http://earthsky.org/tonightpost/brightest-stars/polaris-the-present-day-north-star

[10] light-years: http://earthsky.org/tonightpost/astronomy-essentials/how-far-is-a-light-year

[11] Larry Sessions: http://earthsky.org/team/larrysessions

[12] Astronomy Picture of the Day from NASA/JPL: http://antwrp.gsfc.nasa.gov/apod/

[13] EarthSky: Space: http://earthsky.org/space

[14] CHANDRA Photo Album: http://chandra.harvard.edu/photo/

[15] U.S. Naval Observator Astronomical Information cente: http://www.usno.navy.mil/USNO/astronomical-applications/astronomical-information-center/astronomical-information-center

[16] Universe Today: http://www.universetoday.com/

[17] StarDate Online: http://stardate.org/

[18] Sky and Telescope: http://www.skyandtelescope.com/observing/ataglance/

[19] National Geographic: http://news.nationalgeographic.com/news/

[20] Space Com: http://www.space.com/nightsky/

[21] Simostronomy Blog: http://simostronomy.blogspot.com/

[22] Amazing Space: http://amazing-space.stsci.edu/tonights_sky/

[23] The York County Astronomical Society: http://www.ycas.org/tonights_sky.htm

[24] Scope City: http://www.scopecity.net/

[25] James S McDonnell Planetarium: http://www.slsc.org/WhatToDo/Planetarium/NightSkyUpdate.aspx

Copyright © 2010 Berthoud Recorder. All rights reserved.